Month: August 2010

  • Danny & Annie

    Danny & Annie from StoryCorps on Vimeo.

     

    I haven't been able to get enough of this animated StoryCorps narration.  Going along with the theme of my page as of late, it's about love.  But like a good wine, my ruminations on it grow richer with time.  Visually, I love that the characters are so ordinary...or maybe they are extraordinary in their ordinariness.  Sometimes I look at the way they animated Danny's nose, and I'm appalled.  It looks disgusting, and yet paired with his gruff voice, it just fits.  He's got a way with his sayings that could melt any heart, though they certainly melted Annie's.  "You represent a dirty four letter word, and that word is love."  The next minute, she is pledging to marry him.

    It's been a tough week.  I've been to the hospital twice already.  Our good friend M suffered from a stroke earlier in the week and thankfully is slightly marred, but in good spirits.  He said something when we went to visit him last night along the lines of this video.  We can be planning our lives, but we never know what will happen from one day to the next, so we need to live our life to the fullest.  It was great because there was such a great bunch of people visiting his room last night, and I really felt like even despite the dour circumstances, his friends reflected what a light he was.  We had a couple of good lines constantly running last night.

    My roommate also had a scheduled surgery, and E and I have been starting the process of caretaking since we picked her up.  It's actually kind of sweet.  It's not so much that I like that N is not feeling well, but I am enjoying this bonding time where we are cutting things out of our schedules so we can exclusively dedicate time to taking care of N.  She told me yesterday that she felt so bad about this, but I told her that I know she'd do the same...and that is such a comfort.

    I was reading a friend's blog today, and she mentioned something about sadness and joy living juxtaposed with one another.  It's not that one cancels the other out, but that the two simply coexist.  I've come to learn that in my post-college years.  It's a truth that is somewhat of a rite of passage into "adulthood."  Age has nothing to do with it.  It's the realization that life will inevitably turn every which way, but my staying point is that I am taking my relationships with me through that.

    Danny and Annie love each other as much as they possibly can in this life because that is what they've got.  The body of believers loves each other as much as it can on this side of life and the next.  Life is not so easy, but somehow, with people to live it with, it becomes just a bit more bearable.